Louis Ramsay says he thought Concord Rangers ‘did well’ this season

You joined Concord Rangers in February and the Beach Boys finished in 14th place, what were your overriding thoughts on the season?

‘I thought we did well, we went on a bit of a streak which helped us climb the table from quite a vulnerable position which really helped. We showed a few really positive parts of our game but also a bit of naivety in some games which cost us points at important times. But overall, I think we finished the season with something positive to build on into the new season.’

Louis Ramsay – Image courtesy of Louis Ramsay’s Instagram

At the beginning of your career, you were with the likes of Tottenham Hotspur and Norwich City, what was your experience like there?

‘Really good, I was with Tottenham as a schoolboy which really helped my technical and tactical side of my game. Then moving onto Norwich City as a scholar and pro, I feel like that’s where it got much more physical and demanding. You’re playing to win and games mean much more. Then, being involved with the first team training every day and travelling and being on the bench, it really shows you how big one game of football really is. Thousands are relying on you to play your best and come away with the win, week in, week out.’

Last year, you joined Rio Grande Valley in the USA, what was it like to play abroad and how does it differ from playing in England?

‘Very different. First of all, the weather is the biggest difference. We were training in 35-degree heat every day and it took a while to adjust. But once I did, I felt the fittest I’ve ever been! Travelling all around the states was crazy as well. Our derby game was a 3-hour drive away and we had to take a plane to different states to play the other teams, so it was a lot of travelling.’

You had regular first-team football with Woking and Billericay Town, how important do you think getting first-team football is for you right now?

‘My first season in men’s football at Woking was one I definitely won’t forget. We started really well and were challenging for the play offs. Unfortunately, my season was interrupted by an ankle ligament injury and by the time I recovered, we were in a relegation battle. Playing week in, week out trying to survive the drop, with hundreds of jobs on the line was very intense. It was very different with Billericay, COVID came about and ruined everything so it was a bit of a stop-start season and we couldn’t get any consistency going but getting that first-team football experience was vital with both clubs.’

What are your hopes and aspirations for the future?

‘I think every player wants to play at the highest level possible, so there’s always that aspiration. But we have a new season coming up so all focus is on that. I have to start pre-season fit, strong and injury-free and hit the ground running once the season begins. I just want to play every game to the best of my ability and show everyone what I can do.’

A massive thank you to Louis Ramsay for making this interview possible.

Leave a comment